Managing users and teams

You can invite users to collaborate on your localization projects. User roles let you define permissions for different groups of users.

About users in Phrase

A Phrase subscription comes with a number of user seats. You can use them to create profiles for other users so that they can collaborate with you on your localization projects. For instance, you can create profiles for product managers, developers, and translators. Each user profile has a default role, however the role can be changed on the project level. You can also group users in teams.

Roles

Every user in Phrase has a user role that defines their access rights. Apart from the all-powerful Owner there are the five different roles. See their key access rights. 

Administrator

  • Sees all projects
  • Can edit translations for all languages and access all features in any project 
  • Can manage users and account settings
  • Recommended for users that need full access to the account and all projects

Project Manager

  • Sees only assigned projects
  • Can edit translations for all languages and access all features in assigned projects
  • Can manage users and project settings
  • Recommended for users that need access and manage certain projects

Developer

  • Sees only assigned projects 
  • Can edit translations for all languages in assigned projects
  • Can manage language settings in assigned projects
  • Recommended for users with access limited to individual projects and no account administration

Designer

  • Sees only assigned projects
  • Can view and edit translations for all languages
  • Can upload files and screenshots
  • Recommended for users with access limited to individual projects, and who are responsible for design, layout, UX, etc. (such as via Sketch)

Translator

  • Sees only assigned projects
  • Can view translations for all languages in assigned projects, but can edit translations only for assigned languages
  • Can upload files for assigned languages (if permission is given by an Administrator)
  • Recommended for users with access limited to specific languages, including community users 

Guest

  • Sees only assigned projects
  • Can view translations for all languages in assigned projects and leave comments
  • Can access glossaries (can be removed)
  • Recommended to give read-only access for colleagues or stakeholders not directly involved in the localization process

The below table gives an overview of roles and their permissions:

βœ… - Full permissions

🟨 - In assigned projects

❌ - No permissions

Permissions Owner

Admin

Project Manager Developer Designer Translator Guest
Account Management              
Manage billing & subscription βœ… βœ… ❌ ❌ ❌ ❌ ❌
Delete account βœ… ❌ ❌ ❌ ❌ ❌ ❌
Access invoices βœ… βœ… ❌ ❌ ❌ ❌ ❌
Request a trial of the Pro plan βœ… βœ… 🟨 🟨 🟨 🟨 ❌
People Management              
Manage users (invite, remove, change access) βœ… βœ… 🟨 ❌ ❌ ❌ ❌
Manage Teams (create, delete) βœ… βœ… ❌ ❌ ❌ ❌ ❌
Add existing Teams to projects βœ… βœ… 🟨 ❌ ❌ ❌ ❌
See other members of the account βœ… βœ… 🟨 ❌ ❌ ❌ ❌
Invite existing users to a Team βœ… βœ… 🟨 ❌ ❌ ❌ ❌
Overwrite user role on project level βœ… βœ… 🟨 ❌ ❌ ❌ ❌
Linguistic & Technical Setup              
Manage Glossaries (create, upload, edit, delete) βœ… βœ… ❌ ❌ ❌ ❌ ❌
Contribute to Glossaries βœ… βœ… ❌ ❌ ❌ ❌ ❌
Access Glossaries (add and remove terms) βœ… βœ… 🟨 🟨 🟨  🟨 🟨
Manage styleguides (create, upload, edit, delete) βœ… βœ… 🟨 🟨 🟨 ❌ ❌
Access styleguides βœ… βœ… 🟨 🟨 🟨 🟨  🟨
Manage Machine Translation settings βœ… βœ… 🟨 ❌ ❌ ❌ ❌
Manage Integrations βœ… βœ… 🟨 🟨 🟨 ❌ ❌
Access Integrations βœ… βœ… 🟨 🟨 🟨 🟨 🟨
Access Checks issue list βœ… βœ… 🟨 🟨  🟨 🟨
❌
Project Management              
Access all Spaces and projects βœ… βœ… ❌ ❌ ❌ ❌ ❌
Access assigned Spaces and projects βœ… βœ… 🟨 🟨 🟨  🟨  🟨
Manage Spaces (create, edit, delete) βœ… βœ… ❌ ❌ ❌ ❌ ❌
Manage users in Spaces and projects (add, remove, change access) βœ… βœ… 🟨 ❌ ❌ ❌ ❌
Manage languages per project (add, edit, remove) βœ… βœ… 🟨  🟨 🟨 ❌ ❌
Upload language files βœ… βœ… 🟨  🟨 🟨 🟨 ❌
Download language files βœ… βœ… 🟨 🟨 🟨 🟨  🟨
Project Setup              
Manage keys (add, edit, delete) βœ… βœ… 🟨 🟨 🟨  ❌ ❌
Manage tags (add, assign, edit, delete) βœ… βœ… 🟨 🟨 🟨 ❌ ❌
Manage branching in projects (add, edit, delete) βœ… βœ… 🟨 🟨  🟨 ❌ ❌
Merge branch into main βœ… βœ… 🟨  🟨 🟨 ❌ ❌
Manage project settings (Autopilot, advanced review workflow, placeholders) βœ… βœ… 🟨 ❌ ❌ ❌ ❌
Manage the Blacklist of keys (add and remove keys) βœ… βœ… 🟨 🟨 🟨 ❌ ❌
Requesting Translations              
Manage Jobs (create, mark as complete, delete) βœ… βœ… 🟨 🟨 🟨 ❌ ❌
Access all active Jobs βœ… βœ… 🟨 🟨 🟨 🟨 ❌
Access own Jobs βœ… βœ… 🟨 🟨 🟨 🟨
❌
Manage screenshots (add, assign to keys, delete) βœ… βœ… 🟨 🟨 🟨 ❌ ❌
Buy translations via Phrase βœ… βœ… 🟨 ❌ ❌ ❌ ❌
Translation & Review              
Manage all translations (edit, delete) βœ… βœ… 🟨 🟨 🟨 🟨 ❌
Edit translations βœ… βœ… 🟨 🟨 🟨 🟨
❌
Review translations βœ… βœ… 🟨 🟨 🟨 Only if granted ❌
Verify translations βœ… βœ… 🟨 🟨 🟨 🟨 ❌
Access all translations βœ… βœ… 🟨 🟨 🟨 🟨 🟨
Add comments in projects βœ… βœ… 🟨 🟨 🟨 🟨 🟨

Project-based user roles

This feature is available for the Exclusive plan only.

As the Owner or as a Admin and Project Manager,  you can overwrite the default role of a user and assign them a project-based role. Through this functionality you can empower users within the proper scope and allow teams to see each others projects without risk of interfering in each other processes. For example, a user with the default role Developer can be a Guest in another project. 

The roles can be overwritten within the project via the role dropdown (see screenshot below) and from the user profile section as well. The (i) before the role name suggests that it has been overridden. 

Project

Screenshot 2020-09-18 at 13.26.27

User Profile

Screenshot 2020-09-18 at 13.28.05

 

Creating Teams 

This feature is available for the Exclusive plan only.

Teams are a great way to group users and batch-assign access rights. The more users are working on your account, the more this feature will come in handy. 

To create or edit a Team, add users, or remove users from a Team, go to the tab Teams in the People section.

teams access

To create a Team, a name is required such as Translators.  It can be anything. While creating Teams you can add team members and assign project access to these teams. This will save you a lot of time and manual effort! Any changes on Team level will automatically apply to all users in that Team.

New Team 1New Team 2

Invite users to account

To invite a user to your account, go to the People section and click Invite User. Enter the person’s email address and choose a role for their profile You can invite multiple users by entering their email addresses, separated by commas. Depending on the role you choose, you can also define which projects and languages the user will be able to access. If your plan includes the Teams feature you can add a user to a Team as well.

When you click Invite Users, Phrase sends out the invitation emails. They can join your account by clicking a link in the email.

Screenshot 2020-08-28 at 09.40.40

You can see all pending invitations in the People section, where you can also edit or cancel them. To change permissions for a user who has already accepted an invitation, edit the user’s profile instead.

Profile overview

Users can access the profile overview by accessing their profile settings and clicking Open my profile.

language overview-1
Once you are in the user profile overview, you can see your role,  language access, teams and assigned projects. You can also see the latest activity. Admins can access any user’s profile overview via the People section by clicking on the cogwheel icon. There they will find Edit icons to update the profile (role, language access, teams) of the selected user. 

Delete users from your account

Deleting a user from an account removes the user from all assigned projects within that account. All references to the user, however, will still be visible, so you won’t lose any information or translation data.

Changing the Owner

The owner of an account is called the Owner, and this profile can’t be deleted. To assign this role to a different Administrator, choose More > Promote to Owner next to that user’s entry in the People section

Screenshot 2020-09-01 at 15.43.57